June – Days of

A few notes typed on Great Britain’s longest day. Of days and flowers. Days of joy and lament. Days of blooming!

Good Afternoon, welcome to summer days and listening in to its ways. European blackbird, robin. Wren. Pidgin. This is the chorus in the warm air just now. I don’t see little miss wren and her upturned tail but I hear her!

The gentle hum of bees and the pink petal canopy that is our garden right now. Lots of roses, of shrub and ramble. With salvia on repeat offering us a beautiful palette!

Midst the growth of flowers there’s a song slowing and changing and stopping. We all hold it at some point in our lives. The completion. The Glory moment. The lament that never leaves but we get to discover with a thankful heart the good, the ache and all the ways we stay awake to His mercy.

Considering the ways your own lament opens tenderness towards others who find themselves in a month of blooming , grieving.

How life is lived in lament and joy. Always circling back to gratitude. I circle on. Spilling into my ordinary days. Fixing on the faithful One.

Ammi Majus

I recite inside my head the new translation as easily as the old one. Perhaps because I’ve typed it a lot. Feel the words shape around me. The strong mighty grasp of Holy that helps me step into each day.

I’m held in joy.

Musing on this, the longest day of the year. Amidst summertime sweetness blooming and my Ammi Majus with its numerous little flower heads all out now; she is her absolute prettiest. Hurrah for seeds growing strong. In the delight of the season I remember the bones of it all. The essence of sounds and senses. The Swallow and Lavender add their dance.

These are days I’m growing old in, relishing the flourishing season around me. The way I’m curving out a new mindset of conquering. Of tenderness. Of kindness. Both feet on love. 🌿

I snip and water and tend. Aware the movement of discovery is by doing your own work.

As we apply the foot to the bar at Pilates we know its beneficial outcome not by just watching and being aware but by participating!

I hope summer days afford time to unravel a little of your own narrative of joy in these days of awe and ache.

gathering up the roses for a jug

These days of summer that we long for and lean and linger. Choose days towards joy. It is a beautiful tension.

Days of purple poppies and blooms of the pink peony and rose!

Days of cutting sweet pea flowers stems

Days of eating into the best broad beans from a girlfriend’s garden.

Days of gathering outdoors while sharing salads and Swedish cheese tart.

Days of visiting gardens, observing patterns and rhythms.

Days of trekking familiar fields and finding new ones.

Days of being interrupted and embracing the good of it.

Days of nourishing my soul in the soil and the outside space of the garden.

Days of refining honest ways of being and breathing.

Days of discovering and writing down new vocabulary that tend and makes the heart sing.

Days to type a blog post because you are encouraged by a dear friend. Write an uplifting post, she said.

May you find hands to hold that share in the ups and downs of your days.

May you find beautiful connections as you write down all your ways of noticing.

May your days, be they winter or summer, cultivate joy. Love Rách x

Thank You – to Alison and Emily for inspiring me. To each of you who grace to read. To sisters who deposit joy into my days. Thank you x

Leave a comment