Gossamer Wings

Luxembourg Palace Gardens Paris

Hello dear rachnotes reader. You are most welcome here. 

The day I’m typing this out is a rainy Friday afternoon, I’m reflecting on this mornings wings. I remember the psalm that echoes the words, ‘How He took me to rise on mornings wings’. This morning I gathered some girlfriends to pray for me. One of them text me to say you have gossamer sparkling wings! Fly!

After many anxious moments and real words spoken, the honesty and tears and the overactive thinker finally settles down with a whisper of thanks for prayers and Wings that enabled me to rise.

#risebeloved

This year the journey is about rising, with wings, with hope, rising beloved. It is knowing I’m loved in the fragility and vulnerability of life.

You know already how I cower and can hear the words you’re never good enough. It’s time to learn a new mantra. 

Give me the faith to leave old ways

and break fresh ground with You.

I love coming back to my rise word because when I drift away I am reminded where,  how,  and primarily with whom I can rise. 


The psalms are a great place to touch those soul aching spaces inside of you.

The words here in the Message echo where to find the awesomeness our hearts desire – 

Psalm 59 

16-17 And me? I’m singing your prowess,

shouting at cockcrow your largesse,

For you’ve been a safe place for me,

furthermore the psalmist states 

God, my dependable love.

Exploring the root of how to rise is found surely in the Thee of God. 

Tozer speaks of God and…

‘when religion has said its last word there is little that we need other than God Himself. The evil habit of seeking God and  effectively prevents us from finding God in full Revelation.  In the and lies our great woe if we omit the and we shall soon find that for which we have all our lives been secretly longing.’

AW Tozer

For our identity is fully in Him. 

Pete Grieg in his book Dirty Glory states this 

‘God doesn’t micromanage. His guidance speaks more to identity than destiny; to questions of who, how and why more than where, when and what’?

This helps me rise to think how relationally God is.  To move a little closer into how we are loved.

Talking on prayer and advocating prayer rooms Pete talks of a God in relationship with us.  More words by Pete Grieg here :

‘Your power in prayer flows from an inner certainty that the one who made you likes you.  He is not scowling at you.’

‘He is on your side.’

In my copy of Dirty Glory  this statement is pencilled alongside that quote! 

I’m not alone, I’m sure, in thinking the world wants to tell me off and God included. 

In my note book one night this week I wrote about grace how it sustains and how I need to lean in. 

Notes Summary 

I value those women whose hearts folded their prayers for peace into my needs. Who cared and gifted me with words of encouragement and  to fly. 

TO RISE

 #risebeloved. 



Let’s lose the and – the clutter and stuff that distracts us.  Instead to keep our focus surely in a right relationship with Jesus. Encouraging one another, praying for one another, building one another up in love.

May you rise in your joy moments and in your rainy day moments. 

Thank You for being here 💐

love Rach x 



Leave a Reply

